Champion Mastery in League of Legends: Everything You Need… | RiftFeed
Is Champion Mastery really used only for flexing these days?

Champion Mastery in League of Legends: Everything You Need To Know

Guides 28-04-2023 03:30
True Damage Yasuo
You just know they'll spam Champion Mastery after every single Q they hit | © Riot Games

The League of Legends Champion masteries system is used to keep score of how much a player has invested into any one specific champion, and just how much they've mastered them.

Champion Masteries are earned by playing and winning a game on a champion, thus earning Champion points. Of course, Champion Points gain is influenced by team performance, so there is no abuse of the system.

Champion Mastery in LoL: How To Unlock

To unlock Champion Masteries, much like ranked, you need to first get to a certain Summoner level. Of course, where ranked is restricted to level 30 and beyond, Champion Masteries start much earlier, at Summoner, or account, level 5.

Champion Masteries
Yikes, a Pyke Main | © Riot Games

All champions start at Mastery Level 1, 0 CP (Champion Points). As you play and gather  Champion Points, you’ll achieve new ranks and unlock rewards associated with that rank. On your profile, you can see your:

  • Top 3 Champion Masteries
  • Mastery Score
  • Champions Closest to Mastery

On average, it takes around 25 games to reach Champion Mastery level 5, when starting out playing a certain champion. Reaching higher ranks, however, is a bit trickier.

How to Get To Mastery Level 6 & 7?

When a player gets an S- or above on champions with level 5 mastery they'll receive Mastery tokens. Once you have these in your inventory you can combine them with either Champion Shards gained from Hextech Chests, or Blue Essence, to gain Champion Mastery 6 & 7.

  • To get Champion Mastery Level 6 you'll need to combine two Mastery 6 tokens with that champion's Hextech shard, permanent, or 2450 Blue Essence to unlock Mastery Level 6.
  • Champion Mastery level 7 is a bit more expensive, as you'll need to combine three Mastery 7 tokens with that champion's Hextech shard, permanent, or 2950 Blue Essence to unlock Mastery Level 7.
Mastery tokens
Can't wait for Thresh to get back into the meta again | © Riot Games

Note that for Champion Mastery 6 any S-Grade is good enough to get a token, including an S- grade, while for Champion Mastery 7 only the full S grade or above counts!

Unfortunately for those of you that are ARAM enjoyerswhile you can get an S grade in ARAM games, and have it count to your weekly free Hextech Chests, it will not count towards getting a Mastery Token. Champion Mastery Tokens can only be Earned on Summoner's Rift, in normal or ranked games.

What are Champion Mastery Titles?

If you've spent some time in the post-game lobby and looked at the chat, it's likely that you've noticed an announcement of players getting to a certain level of Champion Mastery during the game you've played. Perhaps even yourself.

In the said announcement, every Champion Mastery level has a corresponding title, but have you ever wondered what titles exist? We sure did, as they seem really cool, so here they are.

  • Thug
  • Prowler
  • Cutthroat
  • Reaper
  • Slayer
  • Executioner
  • Deathmaster
  • Scrapper
  • Brawler
  • Warrior
  • Veteran
  • Destroyer
  • Warmonger
  • Warlord
  • Initiate
  • Conjurer
  • Invoker
  • Magus
  • Warlock
  • Sorcerer
  • Archmage
  • Tracker
  • Strider
  • Scout
  • Ranger
  • Pathfinder
  • Sharpshooter
  • Sniper
  • Aide
  • Protector
  • Keeper
  • Defender
  • Guardian
  • Sentinel
  • Warden
  • Grunt
  • Bruiser
  • Bulwark
  • Enforcer
  • Brute
  • Colossus
  • Juggernaut

As League of Legends players are used to classifying champions according to their roles, this may seem a bit confusing, as no matter which role you play your champion in, earning Champion Mastery is based on their class, which is, in turn, based on their kit and designation they were given by Riot Games when they were designed.

What are Champion Masteries Used For?

Back in the olden days of League of Legends, Masteries used to fill a similar purpose to today's runes. That is to say that Champion Masteries from the original League of Legends are actually more similar to today's Runes than the original Runes were.

However, with the overhaul League of Legends has had on that front, nowadays, Masteries are used to showcase just how good a player is on a champion, and are a way to reward players for playing League of Legends, and dedicating so much time to learning the ins and outs of a champion.

Champion Mastery rewards start from level 4, and offer things hat are visible in-game, to help you wage some psychological warfare on your enemy. They all offer a Level-specific Mastery Badge Emote, Loading Screen Border, and Announcement Banner.

Rijad Kamberovic

Graduating from Sarajevo university in 2020, with a Bachelor's Degree in Islamic Theology, I never believed that my fascination with comparative religions and their myths would mesh so well together with the fantasy genre of the video games I play....